Hayes for Maine | Independent for Governor

Release: Terry Hayes Shatters Glass Ceiling Surpassing 6,800 Maine Donors

Hayes gains momentum and new endorsements amid major TV advertising buy

Maine’s only independent, Clean Elections candidate for Governor, Terry Hayes, announced growing, widespread support for her candidacy after submitting the quarterly finance report to the Maine Ethics Commission.

More than 6,800 Maine voters have made $5 Clean Elections contributions to Hayes’ campaign. Hayes is the only candidate for Governor who is beholden only to the Maine people, and not to party leaders, special interests, or wealthy campaign contributors.

“I am honored to have the support of voters from across the political spectrum who are sick and tired of the partisan bickering and gridlock in Augusta,” said Hayes. “I’m a uniter, not a divider, and I am running for Governor to offer Maine voters the choice of a leader who talks straight, tells the truth, puts people over partisanship, and rolls up her sleeves to get the job done.”

The Hayes for Maine campaign has qualified for $1,149,627 in Clean Elections and raised $92,131 in seed money. Maine voters have twice approved Clean Elections at the ballot box.

“My campaign is backed by Maine voters, and not wealthy out-of-state political action committees. I’ve never participated in a negative ad, and I never will,” added Hayes. “I reject the dark money from anonymous special interests and mega donors that is flooding into our state to keep business as usual in Augusta, and I invite my fellow Mainers who feel the same way to vote differently on November 6th and let’s fix this.”

Click here to watch the Hayes’ campaigns ads that are running on TV statewide, “Doing Things Differently” and “A Better Choice.”

Legislative Endorsements (to-date): Rep. Kent Ackley, State Representative (I-Monmouth); Hon. Bobbi Beavers, former State Representative (D-South Berwick); Hon. Kerri Bickford, former State Representative (R-Topsham); Hon. Andrea Boland, former State Representative (D-Sanford); Rep. Owen Casas, State Representative (I-Rockport); Hon. David Cotta, former State Representative (R-China); Sen. Dennis Damon, former State Senator (D-Trenton); Rep. Marty Grohman, State Representative (I-Biddeford); Rep. Denise Harlow, State Representative (I-Portland); Rep. Norm Higgins, State Representative (I-Dover-Foxcroft); Hon. Bryan Kaenrath, former State Representative (D-South Portland); Hon. Gary Knight, former State Representative (R-Livermore Falls); Hon. Leila J. Percy, former State Representative (D-Phippsburg); Hon. Stan Short, former State Representative (D-Pittsfield); Hon. Windol Weaver, former State Representative (R-York).

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.